Monday, 1 October 2012

West Indies beat New Zealand in Super Over: T20 World cup

West Indies kept their chances alive for semifinals of the ICC Twenty 20 World Cup as Chris Gayle and Marlon Samuels chased down 18-run target in Super Over set by New Zealand in the Super Eight match. 


The New Zealand vs West Indies Super Eight clash of the ICC Twenty20 World Cup went to the wire as both teams were tied at the score of 139 which forced the match into Super Over. 

Needing 14 in the last over, New Zealand scored 13 after Doug Bracewell got run out on the last delivery as Kiwis were restricted to 139/7 in 20 overs. 

Skipper Darren Sammy gave New Zealand third blow in the form of Martin Guptill to reduce them to 52/3 in 9 overs. Samuel Badree gave West Indies a massive breakthrough by dismissing Brendon McCullum to leave New Zealand in tatters. 

Sunil Narine also came into the act, removing James Franklin who edged it to the first slip where Chris Gayle grabbed the one handed catch. 

McCullum tried to consolidate Kiwi innings after losing Rob Nicol early as he added 33-run stand with Martin Guptill. Chasing 140-run target, New Zealand suffered early blow whenRavi Rampaul dismissed Nicol. 

Earlier, Tim Southee and Doug Bracewell took three wickets apiece to help New Zealand bowl out West Indies to 139. 

Kiwi bowlers produced the clinical display as they wrapped up Windies innings in 19.3 overs. Regular strikes by Black Caps have never allowed West Indies batsmen to make a comeback. 

Nathan McCullum struck twice, removing Marlon Samuels and Darren Bravo to increase West Indies worry as they lost half of their side inside 13 overs. Ronnie Hira also joined the party, removing Denesh Ramdin to capture his first wicket. 

West Indies suffered a massive blow when New Zealand pacer Tim Southee ended Chris Gayle's brisk knock. The dashing southpaw cracked three fours and two sixes in his fine cameo which kept the Caribbean side afloat in the match. 

Kiwi pacer Doug Bracewell struck in his successive overs to dismiss Johnson Charles and Andre Russell and leave West Indies tottering at 36/2 in 3.5 overs. 

West Indies made the excellent use of the mandatory powerplay despite the two early blows, scoring 60 runs in six overs. 

Charles was going well as he smashed two boundaries before being caught and bowled by Bracewell. Kiwi bowler gave Windies second blow in the form of Russell, who played it to short fine leg where James Franklin pouched the simple catch. 

New Zealand skipper Ross Taylor won the toss and decided to bowl against West Indies. 

New Zealand brought in all-rounder Jacob Oram and spinner Ronnie Hira in place of Kane Williamson and Daniel Vettori

West Indies replaced injured Dwayne Bravo and Fidel Edwards with Samuel Badree and Darren Bravo. 


New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Rob Nicol, Brendon McCullum (wk), Ross Taylor (capt), James Franklin, Jacob Oram, Doug Bracewell, Ronnie Hira, Nathan McCullum, Tim Southee, Kyle Mills

West Indies: Johnson Charles, Chris Gayle, Darren Bravo, Marlon Samuels, Kieron Pollard, Andre Russell, Denesh Ramdin (wk), Darren Sammy (capt), Sunil Narine, Ravi Rampaul, Samuel Badree.


Post a Comment

Your Comment Posted After Approved.